Montgomery Township School District

mtsd Montgomery Township School District
Harassment, Intimidation & Bullying
Anti-Bullying Information: H.I.B.

Montgomery Township Schools has always had programs in place to educate students about Character Education and bullying.  The new Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights confirms all we support, to provide every student with a safe learning environment that is free from harassment, intimidation and bullying (HIB).

 "Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents, that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, c.122 (C.18A:37-15.3), that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

A. a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property;

B. has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or

C. creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student's education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.
 
With the new Anti-Bullying law in place, you may find the contact information below helpful to answer any questions or concerns that arise during the school year.
 
District Anti-Bullying Coordinator
 
Montgomery Board of Education: (609) 466-7601
   Mrs. Kelly Mattis: Director of Human Resources, District Anti-Bullying Coordinator
      kmattis@mtsd.us ext. 7008
 
 
Anti-Bullying Specialists
 
Montgomery High School: (609) 466-7602
   Maureen Conway: School Counselor
      mconway@mtsd.us ext. 6163
 
Montgomery Upper Middle School: (609) 466-7603
   Grade 7 - Lesley Haas: School Counselor
      lhaas@mtsd.us ext. 4350
   Grade 8 - Allison Doyle Smith: School Counselor
      adoylesmith@mtsd.us ext. 4370
 
Montgomery Lower Middle School: (609) 466-7604
   Grade 5 - Jeanne Fedun: School Counselor
      jfedun@mtsd.us ext. 3021
   Grade 6 - Kevin Armstrong: School Counselor
      karmstrong@mtsd.us ext. 3375
 
Village Elementary School: (609) 466-7606
   Grade 3 - Mrs. Lauren Fornal: School Counselor
      lfornal@mtsd.us ext. 2246
   Grade 4 - Ms. Jolene Schantz: School Counselor
      jschantz@mtsd.us ext. 2246 
 
Orchard Hill Elementary School: (609) 466-7605
   Kindergarten & Grade 2 - Ms. Christine Buber: School Counselor
      cbuber@mtsd.us  ext. 1078
   Kindergarten & Grade 1 - Mrs. Wendy Senatra: School Counselor
      wsenatra@mtsd.us ext. 1007
Sign In
CLOSE