• EFM 2018 : We'd love your feedback!  Please click the link to participate in a survey!
    Every 15 Minutes

    The Junior and Senior students of MHS experience the “Every 15 Minutes” program every other year. The Every 15 Minutes program is a D.U.I/Distracted Driving program.  The Montgomery Police, EMS, and Fire Departments in conjunction with MHS administration and Montgomery/Rocky Hill Municipal Alliance as well as several other volunteers put in many planning hours fron the start of an EFM school year to make this program a success.



    This 2-day program is aimed at underage alcohol consumption, alcohol awareness, texting/distracted driving, and the possible deadly results that can accompany poor choices made by our young drivers.  As part of this demonstration, a mock traffic collision is staged in the parking lot of MHS near the solar panels/bus drop pick up/off. The mock traffic collision includes an emergency response from the Montgomery Police Department, Fire Department, and North Star Air Rescue. Each agency responds to the traffic collision scene and provides assistance, as if it were a real traffic collision. MHS Juniors and Seniors assemble in the parking lot area to witness the collision scene.



    Day one incorporates the message of loss.  Pre-selected students are removed from their classrooms, approximately every 15 minutes, and their obituary is read by a police officer to the rest of the class. The student then returns to class with a black t-shirt and face make-up to symbolize “The Walking Dead.”  Those students cannot speak for the rest of the day.  At the end of day one, participating students and parents remain at the high school for a retreat, where they listen to guest speakers on related topics and participate in several hands-on activities.  



    On day two, MHS Juniors and Seniors assemble in the MPAC for a mock funeral.  The assembly includes guest speakers, a video recapture of day one’s events, personal messages from parent/student participants, and musical accompaniments all facilitated by Mr. Paul Popadiuk, school principal.



    Student Participants from 2014:

    Rhea Bhargava - Jake Blecher - Nora Bradley - Alex Chen - Jabari Clemons - Zoee D’Costa - Ariel Epstein - Emma Fox - Tyler Licata - Joshua Lipowski - Jack Nierenberg - Katherine Neusner - Dhara Patel - Jacob Pettit - Priya Rao - Mitchell Resnick - Trevor Schmidt - Matt Stauffer

    Every Fifteen Minutes  
    See the Video      Photo Gallery (coming soon)      Feedback from Parents & Students 
    (Participants from 2016 EFM pictured below with Christine Grossmann, SAC and Keynote speaker Gabe Hurley)
    EFM 2016