• LOGO  
     
     
    "The sum of human wisdom is not contained within any one language"  Ezra Pound
     
    HIGH SCHOOL
     SUPERVISOR OF WORLD LANGUAGES AND ESL, ALMA REYES    
                                                       (609) 466 7602 ext. 6321    areyes@mtsd.us
     
     
     
    OUR MISSION  
    To develop an appreciation, tolerance and understanding of other cultures
        and those different than ourselves
    To encourage life-long interest and love for world languages and cultures; 
    To help eliminate racism, prejudice, and bias
    To cultivate the ability to communicate with a range of people
    To develop 21st century global citizens
     
    CURRICULUM  
    The curriculum uses the Understanding by Design (UbD) approach and is organized in thematic units to provide meaningful context for academic and cultural content, address national and state standards and assure that students are 21st century college-, careers- and world-ready.  We offer English for non-English natives, French, German, Latin and Spanish classes at the High School. Classes meet every other day for 84 minutes.
     
    ESTABLISHED GOALS:  STATE AND NATIONAL STANDARDS
     
     
    GRADING PROTOCOL
    No one grade shall be worth more than 25% of the marking period grade.
    Graded assignments are spaced throughout the marking period.
    Graded assignments are returned and posted within the following time frame: 
    • Tests/Major assessments within 5 class periods of test date
    • Essays/Projects/Research Papers within 8 class periods of due date
    • Quizzes prior to the summative assessment
     
     
    PROGRESSION OF STUDY
    Sequence and common Course Progressions
     
    Flow chart2
     
     
    FACULTY
     
    Susanne Asral Spanish sasral@mtsd.us
    Brian Beyer Latin bbeyer@mtsd.us
    Nathalie Bogen French nbogen@mtsd.us
    William Dominick Latin and German wdominick@mtsd.us
    Valeriya Kotok French vkotok@mtsd.us
    Karin Lee German klee@mtsd.us 
    Clarisa Lescano Spanish clescano@mtsd.us
    Elsa Licinski Spanish elicinski@mtsd.us
    Iryna Lupak English Language Learners ilupak@mtsd.us
    Kimberly Marshall French & Spanish kmarshall@mtsd.us
    Myrna Medina Spanish mmedina@mtsd.us
    Eliana Molano Spanish emolano@mtsd.us
    Georgina Simons Spanish gsimons@mtsd.us

     
     
     
     
     
Last Modified on September 13, 2017